Is Your WTF Folder Swimming in Clutter?

While building my custom UI I found out that my WTF folder was swimming in a lot of garbage from past addons. Some of those past addons I used for a long time, while others were one day test. I knew from my previous testing that I could delete the useless stuff without incident.

I found years of useless stuff in the WTF folder. Maybe some of it was causing errors from time to time. Maybe not. I removed all of the addon info files for things I don’t use any more. It was easy due to the files being named after the addons. I will say to be careful if you venture into doing this.

There is a safety net with the WTF folder itself. If you delete the folder, it’s rebuilt when you log back into the game. This may come from server-side, so that useless information maybe back too, but I’m not 100% sure.

About Robert M Knight

My world: Technology | Sports | Life | Music | Writer | Christian | Married

Posted on August 5, 2010, in Addons, Post, UI. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. “There is a safety net with the WTF folder itself. If you delete the folder, it’s rebuilt when you log back into the game. This may come from server-side, so that useless information maybe back too, but I’m not 100% sure.”

    The useless info does not come back. When WoW rebuilds either the Interface or WTF folder after them having been deleted, it populates them with default files. The only customized data I know of that is stored both in the WTF folder and on the server (and thus is restored after a WTF folder wipe) are macros.

Leave a Reply

