A Heroic Weekend

I got into a PUG (pickup group) to run my first heroic. My boomkin friend Shadonyte came along as well. Needless to say, we hooked up with a super group of people. There was no belly aching, no DPS checks, no spec checks, gear checks that made little sense, and no hey look at my recount number ego stroking.

Before my group search began, I stabled Hallowpoint and retrieved Maximus. Hallowpoint is great, but he can’t make up for the Furious Howl attack power bonus when circumstances are serious. There is a big difference between doing dailies and trying to take down dungeon boss. I also made a stop by the guild bank and Auction House in Ironforge. I needed to resupply my Mammoth Cutter bullets, pick up a few potions, scrolls and food for buffing. Then I stoned to Dalaran, to start looking for a group in the good ole Trade Chat channel.

Our PUG consisted of a Druid bear tank, a Night Elf Death Knight, a Resto Shaman, my Boomkin Druid friend, and myself using Marksmanship spec. One thing I learned very quickly was that bear tanks move fast. Our tank set a fast pace, but it was slow enough to allow you to catch your breath and replenish mana. This PUG was about the business. We killed anything and everything with full lethality.

To Coren Direbrew all I have to say is, “I love you man. I mean dwarf.”

Now for a look at the loot:

Dungeon Boss Drops
King Dred’s Helm
Spaulders of the Abomination
Enraged Feral Staff

Brewfest Drop
Coren’s Chromium Coaster
Bitter Balebrew Charm

Auction House Purchase
Belt of Tasseled Lanterns (Bargain basement 40g)
Giantmaim Legguards (Just over 100G)

Acheivements Garnered
Direbrewfest (Kill Coren Direbrew.)
Dungeon & Raid Emblem (Loot an Emblem of Heroism, Valor, Conquest or Triumph.)
Heroic: The Nexus (Defeat The Nexus bosses on Heroic Difficulty.)
Oh Novos! (Defeat Novos the Summoner in Drak’Tharon Keep on Heroic Difficulty without allowing any undead minions to reach the floor.)
Heroic: Drak’Tharon Keep (Defeat the Drak’Tharon Keep bosses on Heroic Difficulty.)
The Culling of Time (Defeat the Infinite Corruptor in The Culling of Stratholme on Heroic Difficulty.)
50 Stone Keeper’s Shards (Loot 50 Stone Keeper’s Shards.)
Knights of the Ebon Blade (Earn exalted status with the Knights of the Ebon Blade.)
5 Exalted Reputations (Raise 5 reputations to Exalted.)
Heroic: Utgarde Keep (Defeat the Utgarde Keep bosses on Heroic Difficulty.)

The one item that I did not get was the Bronze Drake for the timed Culling of Stratholme run. Shadonyte beat me on a greed role for it. Lucky son of a gun. I can’t complain much though. I had a disconnect in the middle of a boss fight, but the group did not kick me. I was able to get back in and get back in the fight. That’s professionalism at its finest.

Of course I am going to try to do it all again. I almost have enough Emblems of Conquest to get a better necklace than my currently crafted one.

About Robert M Knight

My world: Technology | Sports | Life | Music | Writer | Christian | Married

Posted on October 5, 2009, in Armour, Post and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love pugs like that. Get to the point, get to killing things fast, and get out again. Love them.

  2. Okay, that second one was not me. I might agree with it, but it wasn’t me. 😦

    • Consider it taken care. I thought it was strange without your image, but thought it may have been a fluke. It will be dealt with in a swift fashion.

Leave a Reply

